News About Picoult’s Next Book


“I don’t write easy books. I don’t write fun books. They don’t come with bright-colored covers suggesting light romance; they aren’t full of kooky, irresistible characters. I cover issues such as domestic and sexual abuse, rape, euthanasia, infidelity–topics that are unsettling. My objective as a novelist is to take you for a breathless ride…and to make you rethink what you believe, and why.” —Jodi Picoult from a P.S Interview about The Pact

Edit: Arwen would like me to also add that Jodi Picoult’s books are not for the faint of heart. I totally agree. If you want to find an author that writes fluffy stuff that doesn’t require any amount of thinking, then she’s not the author for you. BUT, you should check her out anyway, because she is pure awesome-sauce.

Let me confess that during this past month, I’ve become a huge, huge, HUGE Jodi Picoult reader. Once I finish reading one of Picoult’s books, I find myself immediately picking up another one. You’d think that the lady would run out of topics to write about–that at least one of her books would turn out to be a dud because no one, unless they’re a genius, can possibly spew 400-700 pages of words every year. That’s when I realized that Jodi Picoult is one helluva writer, that she IS a freaking genius in the literary world. She’s usually always a couple steps ahead of the reader, since she works on various books at once. (For instance, although this next book isn’t coming out until later this year, she’s already begun initial promotions for her book coming out in 2012…)

Ask anyone who reads her books and they’ll tell you that Jodi Picoult has a way with words. If you ask me, I would add that it’s not just a personal opinion but almost a fact. (Though I’m sure there will always be people who don’t like her, but I doubt anyone can argue that she sucks at writing.) The reason would be because her stories and characters become so tangible, they become alive. They become a part of you and leave a mark on your heart, which is why she has become one of my all-time favorite authors. Very few authors that I’ve come across have the ability to create such characters that Picoult has done. Like she’s said in that quote above, she doesn’t write about issues that are easy to talk about, much less digest. She never fails to amaze me and she’s proven time and time again, that she knows what the heck she’s talking about.

Anyway, before I start ranting about the awesomeness of Jodi Picoult–which I’ll save for another day–news has been out that Jodi’s next book, titled Sing You Home will be released sometime in March, 2011.

I read the synopsis on her website and as with all her books, the story is intriguing. In case any of you are spoiler-phobes, I won’t give away details about the plot, but I will say that it’s about gay couples and questions what defines a “traditional family” in our society. It will also deal with issues concerning religion and the law, sexual orientation, and adoption for gay couples. I, for one, am pretty excited to read the book. I’m sure it will challenge my own personal beliefs but rather than being fearful, I can’t wait for it! Sure, fluffy goods are entertaining but in my opinion, the book/movie that leaves long-lasting impressions on the viewer/reader, is usually the one that take us beyond our comfort zones, challenging us to question what we hold to be true. And Picoult? She does just that.

If you want to read more about the book, click here for an excerpt of the upcoming book. To watch the video trailer for the book, click here.

P.S: If you want to email her personally, you can do so on her website. I just found out from the FAQ page that she responds to all fan mail herself. That’s freaking awesome. *goes off to write some fan mail*

Source: Jodi Picoult’s website

6 thoughts on “News About Picoult’s Next Book

  1. Ooh are you really going to write her fan mail? Hahaha. I’m happy I found another Picoult fan. ^-^ You should add a warning that her books are not for the faint of heart. =pp Jk. But it’s so true. I should start collecting her books..

  2. I love Picoult too tho I’ve only seen a few of her books.
    The last I read of hers was My Sister’s Keeper and it really touched my heart like no other. You’re right she really has ways around words capable of tugging at one’s heartstrings.. awesome!

    • Omo! Omo! Hello ripgal, dear! ❤

      I had no idea that you loved Picoult too! You should join langdon813 unni and I during our Picoult twitter spamming. The more, the merrier! ❤

Leave a Reply

