Before And After Marriage


My parents are bookwhores. Not bookworms. Bookwhores. They read like crazy and the first thing one will see upon entering my home is bookshelves. Filled with lots of books. Then more bookshelves. What can I say? That’s all we really buy in this house besides the usual necessities. Oftentimes my parents will shove a book in my face or spam my mailbox with articles they want me to read. Today was one of those days. 

Seeing as how I was enjoying my very last few days of freedom before a new semester of hell school began, I decided to take a look at whatever goodies they were offering me. While skimming through (hey, I’m being honest at least!) the book Dim Sum For The Family by Mr. John Ng, I found something I thought was pretty hilarious that I thought would be worth sharing.. It’s a book that deals with common problems within marriage and the family, including tips on great parenting and communication. (I don’t recommend it, since I think there are better books out there on this subject, but it does contain some cute and funny graphics.) To all my married readers out there, please tell me if what I posted below should taken with a grain of salt. 😛

Before and after marriage: Conversations change

Before marriage….

He: Yes. At last. It was so hard to wait.
She: Do you want me to leave?
He: No! Don’t even think about it.
She: Do you love me?
He: Of course! Over and over!
She: Have you ever cheated on me?
He: No! Why are you even asking?
She: Will you kiss me?
He: Every chance I get.
She: Will you hit me?
He: Are you crazy! I’m not that kind of person!
She: Can I trust you?
He: Yes.
She: Darling!

After marriage…

Simply read from bottom to top.

4 thoughts on “Before And After Marriage

  1. Hahaha, that mini convo gave me two different thoughts: a guy too eager (before marriage) and the same guy being bored (after marriage). Oh no! Should we not get married in the future then?! (jk).

  2. Not being married, I can’t say anything about the validity of the conversation, but I just have to say: Your parents and my parents are long-lost twins of each other, because that’s exactly what my house looks like, too. And when I finally graduate from college and get my own place, it will probably end up looking the same. When I unexpectedly ended up moving across the country, I was worried about airline weight limits for exactly one reason: so many books!

Leave a Reply

