Day 1: Your Favorite Kdrama


See, I’m an easy target for all enablers on the internet. Perhaps that’s why I get along with them so well–it’s not hard to get me to do something as long as there’s some good logical (har har) reasons behind it. Taking up this 30 Day Korean Drama Challenge will *hopefully* make me a more consistent blogger. These posts probably won’t be long as I’m crunched for time and I don’t know if I’ll be able to write one post a day, but I can guarantee that I’ll have fun writing these up! Plus, I can’t wait to hear what YOU think about my answers and to read what your favorites are. A big shoutout to my gals klutzow, soluna413, and xiaoSxin for being my enablers. ๐Ÿ˜›

This is a really, really difficult one to answer because I have so many favorites that it’s hard to choose. But if I had to pick one drama that hits it out of the ballpark on my love meter, I’d pick You’re Beautiful. Why? Because it upped my love of Kdramas and turned me into a full-blown Kdrama addict. For the first time in my life, I was completely obsessed and in love with a 16-hour show. Not infatuated. In. Love. And that love hasn’t worn off since. It’s a drama that hits all the right notes for me, whether it’s a sunny or gloomy day. It never fails to make me laugh or turn me into an emotional wreck.

It’s a drama that I’ve rewatched countless times on family road trips or whenever I feel nostalgic, a gem I simply can’t let go. It owns me heart and soul; one of the few Korean dramas that have made it to my treasure box. It may not be the best drama I’ve watched substantially, but that doesn’t matter because at the end of the day, I love this drama. That’s what counts. In a matter of hours, I fell in love with Go Mi-nam and Hwang Tae-kyung. Let’s also not forget the adorable Jeremy and Kang Shin-woo.ย The fact that I still remember the names of the characters goes to show just how much I care about ’em since I tend to forget all characters’ names in a drama when I’m done. You’re Beautiful is an exception.

It’s a flawed drama, yes, but all its flaws are flaws that I can accept. It’s not just crack that a person can gobble up in one sitting and be done with, but a crack that’s addicting to the nth degree. At least it was that way for me. Too bad the after effects still has yet to wear off completely. In fact, just thinking about this little show suddenly makes me all giddy.ย It’s because of this show that I came to love the Hong Sisters and Jang Geun Seok, my ex-I Lub You. Although I no longer MINE him, Jang Geun Seok is still considered one of my favorite Korean actors. It’s just that Choi Soo Jong beats him in the acting department, which is why CSJ is MINE MINE MINE.

Besides the evident crazy, albeit hilarious plot and The Cute in YAB, my favorite aspect about this show is the music. To date, this is the only Korean song that I can somewhat sing, having put this on my playlist on repeat. I’ve included the MV below that includes some of my favorite scenes.

*sniff* I’m getting teary-eyed now. I think this calls for another rewatch. But not if my friends will kill me and drag me to bed so that I can recover from this darn cold!

10 thoughts on “Day 1: Your Favorite Kdrama

  1. Oh so that’s why you tweeted about this earlier!! YAY!! Let’s do the challenge!! I’m behind because I’m stuck on Day 4.. I’m being OCD about it. Can’t decide what my answer. LOL XD. So I’m mulling what my answer will be……

    Anyways.. great job on your first answer to Day1!! I love YAB too. It’s the most exp DVD boxset I got ๐Ÿ˜ฆ bec I caught the crazy bug of YAB when it aired. So I bought the DC even though it is Region 3?!?!?!?! Crazy huh? Well… Love the drama a lot that’s why… I was crushing on JGS too.

    Looking forward to your picks for the challenge!!

  2. mine too! there’s just something so refreshing about this drama.
    this drama has many of my favs actually…Tae Kyung is my fav male character…and YAB has my fav OST

  3. Ah your obsession. Lawl. Yes, you better stay in bed away from dramas until you’re all better. =p Haha I now know what to blame for your ridiculous addiction!

  4. @xiaoSxin- Yup, I blame you three for luring me into the darkness–or is it light? ๐Ÿ˜› Hahaha, I really wanted to buy the DC of YAB at the time but it honestly was out of my budget. I don’t think they sell it now anymore, but if they still do, I would consider buying a copy. Just like how I’m going to order Tamra. Whoops, I thought I ordered it already but I guess I haven’t yet. Will order it later this weekend! Wait, I thought you already did Day 4 on the Challenge. You’re talking about Day 5, right? But yeah, I can’t wait to read the rest of your responses! I gotta get a link to Kender’s answers too. I’ll ask her later.

    @Melissa- Yeah, refreshing is a perfect word to describe YAB! Glad we both love YAB! Hooray! ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Honey- Nuuuu! Don’t take away mah dramas. I’m gonna cry if you do. *puppy face* Yeah, don’t you remember how utterly OBSESSED I was with YAB? I mean, before that, I still talked about Kdramas but not like that. I didn’t watch dramas as it was airing until this show. So you can definitely blame YAB now. ^^

    • should I tell you where I hid the rips for the DC? Because some of us around here ::looks around to see if anyone is watching….:: may have loved it so much they got the DC and then um…redid all the subs.

  5. Being so busy with, you know, still being in school (~sigh~) means I don’t have a lot of time to rewatch even my very favoritest dramas like YB. But this last Christmas vacation my 13-year-old sisters begged me to watch a drama with her, and after my mom ruled out The Woman Who Still Wanted to Marry (saying it was too mature for a 13-year-old), we settled on YB. Initially she wasn’t all that interested in it, but after about episode 4 or 5 she was totally in love with it, and cheering on Jeremy. (She is 13, after all. But that’s okay, more Tae-kyung for me! kkk) I was glad for the chance to not only watch it again for the first time since it aired, but also to get to see the excitement of my little sister as she discovered it for the first time, as well.

    Thanks for sharing! I look forward to seeing what else you’re going to share with us. I *cough* might have to do the same on my own blog to uh, motivate myself a little.

      • I haven’t checked out Woman Who Still Wants To Marry but I’ve heard good things about it. One of these days I’ll clean out my to-watch list. God knows I have way too many Kdramas I need to watch. I always tell myself that I’ll watch it over the summer but when summer does come, I find myself swamped with other work to do. Thanks for adding your comments! Love hearing from you. Just added you to twitter. ^^

  6. Do you know I have this song in like three different version on my mp3 player…plus I’ve been hunting down a karaoke version to download (not that I’m EVER going to be singing it in public)….and I’m also considering ripping the one that you just posted….i’m completely nuts!!!….which means I fit in perfectly with larger drama addict community…very sad

  7. The Kdrama I most lost my mind over was Goong/Palace. Yeah, it had some flaws. Some parts dragged, there was plot-recycling, and some of the acting was cringe-worthy, but this show hijacked my thoughts. It’s probably because I shipped the OTP desperately and was rewarded by such little crumbs of cute every so often. Another show I LOVE, My Girlfriend is a Gumiho, kept me very content with pounds of cute. Goong kept me yearning, but not so much that I surrendered and turned my back on it. And yeah, YAB was really good. I wasn’t in love with the OTP, but I dug just about every character. Go Mi Nam is one of my fav heroines in Kdrama.

Leave a Reply

