YouTube Highlight of the Day: Electric Violin and Beatbox- Moonlight Grenade


The amount of talent displayed on YouTube sort of blows me away sometimes. Yesterday was one of those days. Who needs to be in Hollywood when you can post a video of yourself on the web and gain fame that way?  My good friend @tifranlie showed this to me yesterday, and I fell in love. I’m a big fan of fusing classical music with modern styles, so it comes to no one’s surprise that I couldn’t stop watching this video displaying the astounding collaborative effort by Jason Yang and Jake Moulton.

After watching this video, I wish that my parents had given me a choice to choose between violin and piano, or some other instrument when I was young. Years later, I’m envious of violinists and wish that I played the violin instead of the piano. Okay fine, I’m grateful for being able to play a musical instrument at all, but string instruments give off this sensational, enchanting sound that’s different from keys.

Combine violin and beatboxing together and you get this unique, harmonious sensation. Isn’t is sublime?

If you liked that video, you should also check out some of Jason’s other works. This one caught my eye last night. An absolutely mind-blowing performance with Mike Song at the University of Oklahoma’s invAsian showcase. This one’s called “Frolicking Symphony.” So. freaking. awesome!!! This one takes the cake for the night. I only wish the quality of the video was better, and I hope you like them both!

2 thoughts on “YouTube Highlight of the Day: Electric Violin and Beatbox- Moonlight Grenade

  1. Jason Yang is pretty awesome. And I too wish I had learned violin. Well, at least I got to try it. Haha. Just really sucked and had to stick with piano. But if I had my way, I would’ve played violin too. Best instrument ever!

Leave a Reply

