Japanese Remake For You’re Beautiful


Broadcast stations just don’t want this drama to ever end, do they? Not that I blame them. TBS, one of Japan’s broadcasters, has announced that a Japanese remake of the popular hit 2009 SBS series, You’re Beautiful, is underway. The Japanese version is set to be tentatively scheduled to be broadcasted sometime in July, on Friday nights.

Casted in this drama include Japanese singer-turned actress Miori Takimoto to reprise the role of Go Mi Nam, Tamamori Yuta as Hwang Tae Kyung, Fujigaya Taisuki as Kang Shin Woo, and Yaotome Hikaru as Jeremy. These four will make up the Japanese A.N.JELL

Huh. Apparently Jang Geun Seok was also quoted saying that he looks forward to a different take on his character — the quirky, smirky, yet all-too-lovable Hwang Tae Kyung.

I’m not going to pretend that I know anything about Japanese actors and actresses, because I don’t. Nonetheless, I doubt anyone except Jang Geun Seok is able to pull off another Tae Kyung. I’m always ready to be proven wrong, though. Another thing is that although this will be a remake of the original, it will be missing the Hong sisters touch, which in my opinion, was one of the most important elements in how YAB was executed. It was also the writing that made the drama fun and fresh. I’m curious as to how the Japanese writers will be able to come up with references to the Japanese culture (like the Hong sisters did with the Korean culture), and just how this entire remake will turn out. Guess we’ll have to find out over the summer!

So, will I watch the Japanese remake? Ehhhh maybe. Might as well be optimistic that I will one day find access into the fourth dimension, right? And I suppose it won’t hurt to add this remake of You’re Beautiful in addition to the dramas on my to-watch dramas. A few more hours of dramas won’t kill me. At least I hope not.

Source: 10Asia

6 thoughts on “Japanese Remake For You’re Beautiful

  1. What? What? Someone spiked their drinking water didn’t they? A Johnny-Boy versioin of YAB? They expect an actor whose basically acted in one thing – and that was Gokusen – to be Hwang Tae Kyung?

    I love my doramas, even cracky whackjob ones – I really do, but this one…sounds bad.

    • Sigh. Now I’m totally NOT looking forward to the remake at all. But my curiosity will probably get the better of me, and I’ll probably tune in, just to see how bad it ends up being.

      And yeah, there can only be one Hwang Tae Kyung in my mind — the one played by Jang Geun Seok.

  2. There’s only one YAB
    I hate when people make remakes of an already good series
    I think it’ll probably be worse than the original. I hope I’m wrong though…

Leave a Reply

