Ouran High School Host Club Gets Ready For A Japanese Drama Adaptation


TBS announced earlier today that, in addition to the YAB remake, it will also be gearing up to release a live-action adaptation of  Hatori Bisco’s manga, Ouran High School Host Club. The manga was already made into an 26-episode anime back in 2006, and due to its popularity, was also later dubbed in English and released to the U.S audience by Funimation in 2008. The drama is tentatively set to be released sometime during July later this year.

Here’s the official cast roundup:

Yamamoto Yusuke will be playing the Host Club President, Tamaki Suou.

Kawaguchi Haruna as the crossdressing Haruhi Fujioka

Daito Shunsuke as Kyoya Ootori, the Vice President aka “Shadow King” of the Host Club.

Takagi Shinpei and Takagi Manpei as the mischievious Hitachiin Twins, Hikaru and Kaoru

Nakamura Masaya as Takashi Morinozuka aka “Mori senpai”

Chiba Yudai as the adorable Mitsukuni Haninozuka aka “Honey”

Here’s my reaction:

I think I’m going to cry. I suppose I should see this situation as a glass half-full rather than half-empty. I’m just not terribly fond of anime or mangas being adapted for a drama, especially not a series like Ouran. Granted, I know that many mangas and anime series have been adapted into live-action shoots, and quite successfully, too. I, however, don’t think it’s possible to recreate a world like Ouran. For one, it’s impossible to recreate wild imaginations and random reveries that made Ouran so memorable and unique. The other is that these characters are so OTT crazy, one will probably need to take a bazillion happy pills in order to act them out well.

This isn’t to say that I’m against the making of this adaptation. Oh no, I applaud their efforts to spread the Ouran love (the more the merrier!). It’s just that I have this ominous gut feeling that it will deviate from the original series itself, which is not something I’d like to see happen to one of my favorite manga and anime series.

I’m also unfamiliar with the entire cast, so I have no idea if this will turn out well. Anyone know more about these actors besides what dramawiki can tell me? I guess this is another reason for me to start watching more Japanese dramas in the future, so I can actually somehow formulate my own expectations and predict how well this drama will turn out, prior to its airing.

In the meantime, I will be crossing my fingers for a favorable outcome that surpasses my current expectations.

Sources: tokyohive and jpopasia

7 thoughts on “Ouran High School Host Club Gets Ready For A Japanese Drama Adaptation

  1. I’m having much the same feelings. :\ I’d much rather they had a second anime series. This is one anime I loved enough to buy most of the manga – in traditional chinese, no less! – which pretty much shows my love for the manga/anime, and I’d be pretty upset to have it wrecked with a crappy live adaptation. Of course, fangirl that I am, I’m still going to be watching it, regardless.

    • I’d prefer a second anime series over a drama adaptation any day. Haha, I only read traditional Chinese, even though in this day and age, I should practice reading more of simplified than traditional. I’ve read the manga series, but I was introduced to the anime version first. I actually own the anime set and have been rewatching it numerous times a year ever since 2006. ^_^

      (Now that the news of this drama adaptation is out, I’m debating if I should recap the anime, just for the hell of it. Well, more like to spread the Ouran anime/manga love prior to its live-action demise release.)

  2. yeah I’ve seen most drama adapted from anime and most of them seem alien to the original storyline. However there is one adaptation that I love, korean playful kiss adapted from Itazura na Kiss. Yamamoto Yusuke will not escape from having compared to our Prince Tamaki =). ahh talking about Ouran sure brings back memory, I keep rewatching this series. can’t get enough of it; sure why not second season ouran?tamaki,haruhi,kyoya,hitachiin twins, mori and honey sure won’t stop making us rolling on the floor laughing.

    • You’re absolutely right that some manga-turned-drama adaptations have been done well. In fact, I was sort of referring to Playful Kiss in my mind when I wrote “Granted, I know that many mangas and anime series have been adapted into live-action shoots, and quite successfully, too.” Playful Kiss will probably always be one of my guilty pleasure dramas, and one that I love talking about.

  3. my immediate reaction to this news was “omg yayyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!” because i was obsessed with this anime. i marathoned it in 2 days >.<
    i just hope it's really really good. if it turns out to be a flop i'll be really sad.

    • Wasn’t the anime fabulous? I loved it as well, and I think I also marathoned it it within a day or two. It remains to be one of my favorite anime series to this day, even though I honestly don’t watch or read mangas as voraciously as I used to.

  4. The Tamaki is so wrong chosen. I’ve been the guy in some drama, and his character was the weird kid around who did weird I see ghosts things or something. He is not prince material, sadly. And I don’t want to be superficial, but I think Tamaki’s actor should be prettier, but yeah, I am being superficial haha.

Leave a Reply

