Fierce Wife is nominated for Golden Bell Awards


If you’ve been following Taiwanese dramas this past year, then you’ve probably heard about The Fierce Wife and its popularity. It shouldn’t be surprising, then, to hear that this 23-episode drama has swept the nominations for this year’s Golden Bell Nominations, scheduled for October 21st of this year. Each year’s Golden Bell Awards celebrate the television industry in Taiwan, and it’s similar to the Emmy’s in the United States. This year will be the Golden Bell’s 46th annual awards and it will be held at the Sun Yet San Memorial Hall.

TFW alone is being nominated in seven categories, including the biggest awards of the night: Best Drama, Best Actress, and Best Actor. Whee! I’m so excited!

James Wen is up against Joseph Chang in the Best Actor category, whereas Sonia Sui is most likely a shoo-in for the Best Actress award. Though I didn’t watch the other nominated actresses act in their dramas, Sonia’s performance in TFW was too awesome for me to even doubt that she won’t win. She played Xie An Zhen perfectly, and I think her acting was what made the show so popular and enjoyable.

I’ll be very, very angry if she doesn’t win it. The girl deserves it. And I’m not saying that just because I’m such a fan of hers now. Anyone who has watched a minute of the show can see that she was flawless and that she gave the best performance of her life.

As for Joseph vs. James, I don’t know who will win. I loved both in their respective dramas, so I’ll be happy if either of them win it. If I was on the judging board, however, I think I would pick James over Joseph, only because I personally think his character was so much more difficult to portray. But at the same time, Joseph’s charisma and nuanced acting in front of the camera was just as amazing. Ack! Now I’m so conflicted! Guess we’ll see what happens next.

Meanwhile, Amanda Zhu is also nominated in the category of Best Supporting Actress. I think there’s a good chance for her to win it. She had a stellar performance and she was able to hold her own while starring next to Sonia.

In fact, I think there’s a high possibility that TFW will win every category that its being nominated for. Wouldn’t you agree?

2 thoughts on “Fierce Wife is nominated for Golden Bell Awards

  1. Ahh! I’m so happy to hear The Fierce Wife has been nominated in seven categories!

    The drama and the actors truly deserve it for their amazing work on the show.

    Not sure how many awards they’re actually going to win, but I’m rooting for them! ^ ^

Leave a Reply

