3 addicting YouTube Covers to check out


There’s nothing I love more than good music, especially if it’s music sung by talented people on YouTube. Since I think I’ve already shared all three of these videos to anyone who would listen, I thought that I should bring these songs to my blog as well. More enabling, yay! You can thank me later. πŸ˜‰

“Dare You To Move”–Β Switchfoot


First up is Jayesslee, a duo of Korean-Australian twins named Janice and Sonia. I love this duo because they’re just so good together. Beat by beat, verse by verse, their harmony blends together perfectly to produce heavenly music from the gods. And this cover of one of Switchfoot’s hit song is no exception. I always love it when they release a new cover on YouTube. I only wish that there would more more of ’em. If you like the above clip, you should also check out their cover of “Price Tag” by Jessie J. It’s one of my faves.

“Someone Like You” — Adele


I’ve got a confession to make. Are you ready to listen to me? Don’t judge me, but I don’t like Adele. I kinda almost hate her. Her songs are mediocre at best, but what I really can’t stand is her voice. Thus, whenever her voice comes on the radio, I immediately switch stations. It’s just a reflex reaction, y’know. So whenΒ Sam Tsui released this cover on his newest personal channel a month ago, I was really skeptical. I was almost afraid to listen to it because I didn’t like the original version.

How could I ever doubt you, Sam? Sigh. He sings it beautifully, never failing to add his usual emotional flair to it. Although I’m still not very fond of Adele, I absolutely adore this song! It’s also perfect background music when studying or reading a book on a rainy day.

“Pop Medley 2011”


The best for last! For those of you who’ve been following DBJ for a while now, the names Kurt Schneider and Sam Tsui should ring a bell. No? C’mon, it’s the same Sam Tsui singing in this video as the other embedded video above!

The two friends who met in college moved to Los Angeles from the East Coast earlier this year, after becoming a YouTube sensation about a year ago. This is their version of a combination of various summer pop songs, in which they call a “medley.” It’s an epic mash-up of some of their favorite hits from this year.

Never heard of ’em? Go. Watch. It. Now! Be sure to also check out their cover of “Just a Dream” featuring Christina Grimmie, which is probably THE cover of all covers on YouTube. If I’m not wrong, it was perhaps this very song cover that skyrocketed them to worldwide YouTube fame last year. In fact, I love this song so much it’s been my cell phone ringtone for the past year…

Well, that’s all the covers I’ve got to share for now. Any other favorite YouTube singers that you like? Please don’t hesitate to send me a link. I’m always on the lookout for more wonderful music. Plus, I need an excuse to update my iTunes playlist this year.

7 thoughts on “3 addicting YouTube Covers to check out

    • Hee. I’ve watched this one before and it’s a really good cover, just not Sam Tsui/Kurt Schneider. πŸ˜› I am a fan of Jason Chen & Joseph Vincent, both are talented singers. Thanks for sharing, dear! ❀

  1. I happen to be on a never-ending search for amazing Youtube covers. Kurt Hugo Schneider ❀ And Sam Tsui! Their Just a Dream cover was SO AMAZING. ❀ Actually, all videos posted in Kurt's channel are. *fangirl* Anyway, you might want to check out The Icarus Account. They cover songs and have lots of awesome original songs too. I really love them. πŸ˜€

    Whoops, btw, I'm a lurker and this is the first time I commented. Haha! Hiiiiiii~

    Have you tried listening to Lisa Scinta? Joseph Vincent? I have tons but I can't think of them right now. Haha! πŸ˜€

    • Hey whoopeeyoo,

      Thanks for de-lurking! πŸ™‚ Welcome to DBJ and I hope you enjoy your stay here.

      I’m so glad that you’re also a Kurt Schneider/Sam Tsui fan! They’re super awesome and I love them so very much. I do like Joseph Vincent, but can’t say I’m in love with him. I’ve never heard of Lisa Scinta or The Icarus Account, so I will definitely check them out right now. Let me know if you have any other favorite YouTube singers that come to mind. I’m excited to discover new talents!

  2. I LOVE KURT! And now realize how important Sam is to their duo. ^0^ Hehehe. Sam’s voice and Kurt’s brilliance put together = eternal bliss. Dang we’ve both been obsessed with these three songs at the same time now.

Leave a Reply

