Popular Ouran High School Host Club gets a movie version too


The cast of the Japanese drama adaptation of the popular manga/anime series, Ouran High School Host Club, are set to come back to fans in a new upcoming movie as well. In addition to the original cast, Nichkhun from 2 PM and Japanese girl group member Shinoda Mariko from AKB48 are also cast in the drama. Am I excited? No. But should I be? I guess so.

The reason for my lack of anticipation for this movie version is that I didn’t enjoy the Japanese drama adaptation that much. I watched about oh, three or four episodes before dropping it entirely. It was cute and entertaining, and possibly cracktastic for many, but it just wasn’t for me. Not when I have the original manga and anime series on hand, which in my opinion, is a lot better than the first few episodes I saw of the drama. So it was a letdown for me to see that the Japanese drama didn’t quite live up to my expectations.

I don’t know what else to say except that the anime carried on the comedy much more naturally than the drama and I enjoyed it a lot more. And I found that the drama was oddly more OTT than I expected it to be. It was more slick and less heart, at least in what I saw in the beginning.  Though parts of the drama may have been based on the exact same scene from the anime/manga, it just wasn’t as awesome when it’s played out by real-life people. I guess it all depends on your perspective and whether you watched the anime/read the mangas before watching the Japanese drama. Personally, the anime and manga will forever own my heart and soul because it’s so perfect for me.

But don’t let what I think stop you from checking out the movie. There’s a trailer that’s already released:

2 thoughts on “Popular Ouran High School Host Club gets a movie version too

  1. I suppose a movie version would be easier to stomach than the drama anyway, since it’s shorter. So if it’s really awful, you don’t have to suffer for as long..

    But I do like the anime too much to bother with other versions unless they’re amazingly fantasmical.

    • WORD.

      I just don’t see the point of making a movie at all. Like what else can they do to the storyline? Fans might as well just watch the anime series, which is freaking amazing. Sigh. But I guess it’s trying to ride on the momentum that the drama received during its popular run on television. :/

Leave a Reply

