The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo — Are you in?


The trailers for this English film adaptation of Stieg Larsson‘s popular book series was released months ago, but out of my excitement for the upcoming film that will be released next month, I wanted to share ’em on my bloggy. “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” is the first of three books in the Millenium trilogy. It’s a thrilling mystery novel that’s gripping and quite addicting, but probably not a book I’d recommend to just anyone because the books, especially the first, are full of graphic scenes such as violence and rape. Plus, not everyone’s into crime novels either.

Interestingly enough, it was my own brother who introduced the book series to me earlier this year. I remember devouring the trilogy over a single weekend and by the time I had finished, I didn’t feel satisfied. Instead, I had questions that needed answering. I also felt the story itself was unfinished, and that the plot was just getting good when it ended all too abruptly.

I researched a bit about Stieg Larsson and got one of the answesr that I was looking for: Larsson died before he even saw his books published, which he wrote for fun. He was also in the process on working on the fourth book, and apparently had planned for the series to end with ten books in all. I think it’s obvious that the series is uncompleted because the third book introduces some new characters that I found interesting, though not necessarily endearing.

I have a love-hate relationship with all of Larsson’s characters except one. I still remember my drama friends and other critics calling his books as “Larsson trying to fulfill his middle-aged fantasies.” And while I do agree with them, I still liked the series enough to want to watch the upcoming films and blog about it.

It was something about Lisbeth Salander, the main female character, that appealed to me from the outset. She’s disturbing and fascinating as a character, a bundle of contradictions. She’s got this I-don’t-give-a-crap attitude about the world, trusting no one but herself; a ruthless, gifted hacker that notices many things about a person that the average individual wouldn’t. Yet she’s also quite vulnerable, erecting an emotional wall so high that no one can really breach it. Also, despite her gift with computers, she’s almost incapable of connecting with other human beings, barely able to keep a relationship with anybody. Some readers may hate her, and others, love her. For me, I’m caught somewhere between those two extremes, a multi-dimensional character whose mysteries I want to unravel. In other words, I like her and she piques my interest.

As for the other protagonist, Mikael Blomkvist, I’ve got only one thing to say: Meh. [This is where I agree with my drama friends above, but I have to admit that Daniel Craig is hot as Mikael…]

I don’t know what else to add about this series, so I’ll just let the awesome trailers speak for themselves. As for me, I’m looking forward to the movie that comes out in theaters on December 21st, 2011. If the embedded videos don’t work below, go to the official website and watch them.

Trailer 1:

Trailer 2:

Movie posters and photos:

Fun fact : All the piercings that Lisbeth Salander (Rooney Mara) has in this film are real, including nipple, eyebrow, lip, nose, and multiple ear piercings.)

Character Descriptions [You may have to enlarge your computer’s screen to read it.]

So, who else is excited for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo? Or am I alone as a fan of the Millenium trilogy?

10 thoughts on “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo — Are you in?

  1. Thanks for blogging about this!!!
    Hell yeah I’m ready for this movie like now! I read the books 2 years ago and couldn’t wait until the movie adaptions were made. I’ve seen the Swedish version of the movies and loved them. I hope this will be just as good. If the trailer is any indication this movie is going to be off the hook!!! Waiting for 12/21/11 to come like NOW!!!!!!!!

    • Oooh you’ve seen the Swedish version? I heard that the actress who played Lisbeth was outstanding, but just looking from the trailers and the posters, I think Rooney Mara is going to shock us with a mind-blowing performance. Who’s your favorite character in the books?

      December 21st! December 21st! ^_^

      • Yes, Noomi Rapace was awesome as Lisbeth, Rooney Mara has some big shoes to fill. But what I’ve seen in the trailer she has Lisbeth down pat in a was she has the look of what I thought Lisbeth would look like more than Noomi did.
        My favorite character hands down is Lisbeth. I just love her! She really is such a anomaly, I loved that she could get back up no matter what happened to her. I mean all the crap she goes thru and still she is able to continue to live. She really was one tough cookie.
        I think the casting of Daniel Craig as Mikael was spot on! He’s absolutely perfect!
        I just pre-ordered the boxed set of the Swedish version from amazon! Woo Hoo.
        When you get a chance endodo you should really take a look at the Swedish movies.
        Sorry for being so long winded.

        • Oh no problem, I love long comments and enjoy reading them! I’m so glad to have found another fan of The Girl series.

          Yay, you also like Lisbeth! She’s probably one of the most controversial female protagonists ever written, for she’s elicited a lot of various responses from readers. Like I said in this post, she piques my interest, but I’m not sure I’d really want to have her as a friend because quite frankly, she freaks me out as well.

          Another fun fact that I read from imdb (Internet Movie Database): Rooney Mara was casted as Lisbeth after she, and four others, re-enacted Lisbeth in the rape scene. Pretty intense, yeah? The fact she was chosen because the director wanted to see that she could handle all the violent scenes in the movie. And you can be sure that there will be plenty of those in the movie, though I think they will try to make it less traumatizing for the viewers as much as possible. Or so I hope. I’m pretty sure Rooney is going to be a fantastic Lisbeth just by the way she totally immersed herself into this role. (Like getting all those piercings. Seriously? Ridiculous!) If I ever can get my hands on the Swedish movies, and if one day I don’t find myself swamped with dramas to watch, I shall check it out!

          Hmm…that might be a lovely Christmas gift for myself as well. 🙂

  2. I just finished reading the books and I have to agree with you about Lisbeth. One of the most satisfyingly complex female leads I’ve read. The books themselves…well, they are really g.r.a.p.h.i.c, even though I generally love mystery thrillers. The whole reveal at the end of the first book came whanging out of the left field at me, after maybe two thirds being relatively mild. Ditto on Mikael Blomkvist being meh – I have no feeling about him whatsoever, but Daniel Craig will probably change that. The trailer looks really edgy though, and the casting of Henrik Vanger and Erika Berger looks spot on.

    • Oh wow, how did you come across the books? Did anyone recommend it to you? I know that it’s been quite popular internationally and that many people have recommended it to their friends and family, but I’m wondering if you found the book series randomly yourself. I’ve been seeing it everywhere in bookstores in the States.

      That’s a perfect way to describe the trailers — they are edgy! Yes, Daniel Craig looks yummylicious. I know Brad Pitt and Viggo Mortensen, whom I love, were considered to be Blomkvist, but Craig, from his James Bond movies, carries himself in a different way than these other two. I can’t really put my finger on it, but he’s got a different aura that’s more suitable for this role than anyone else that could have been Blomkvist.

      I asked my brother if he wanted to watch the movies with me when it hit theaters, and received an adamant “no” in reply. Said he doesn’t want to watch it at all because the books already creeped him out.

      Yeah, the ending of the first was unexpected for me as well, though I had an inkling of where it was going at the halfway mark. Yes, a lot of people have said that the plot had a slow start until almost a hundred pages (or more, depending on the reader) into the book. I remember that I didn’t get invested into the characters until around page 80 or so, but I can’t remember why. Possibly because that’s when Lisbeth became more awesome and I went, hooollllllyyyy shiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeetttt!

      • Haha, yeah, it was everywhere, and that was partly why I didn’t want to read it; my own backward logic was remembering Twilight and how it was such a big phenomenon and the dross it turned out to be. But I saw this in the library and picked it up on a whim. I liked it, actually, the way all the elements of the plot were laid out and the gradual buildup, and especially the way Larrson made business machinations interesting. Best thing about it was Lisbeth, though – totally satisfying female character, even though she kinda freaks me out too, lol. I’m going to watch that movie for Rooney Mara and Daniel Craig and those edgy visuals, though I’m going to be closing my eyes and whimpering in the rape scene ;P I just don’t have the stomach for that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

