Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish


Um. A lot. Too many to count, which I’m sure most of you will understand. But here’s a list of 5 of them. Time for some quick drama bashings!

Hong Gil Dong: As sad as it is to say this, I couldn’t stand Jang Geun Seok‘s wooden acting. It bothered me enough that I had to drop the drama, though I trudged on until episode 10. Kang Ji Hwan was a hoot, but this drama tried my patience. Read the recaps for the rest of the series and was glad I dropped it, because the ending left a bad aftertaste in my mouth. Others may love it, but this is probably my least favorite Hong Sisters’ drama.

Queen Seon Deok: I watched this drama until episode 24 or so becauase my father and friends recommended it to me. While Go Hyun Jung was amazing as the evil Mi Shil and Kim Nam Gil as was sexy as the troubled Bi Dam, I just couldn’t finish it because I had no desire to. The story spiraled to hell near the end of its 62-episode run because of its 12-episode extension. Lee Yo Won was the lead but was completely overshadowed by Go and I thought Uhm Tae Woong’s Kim Yoo Shin a little bland following his child actor’s part. (Lee Hyun Woo was so freaking cute as the young Yoo Shin. That kid’s going places.)

Road No. 1: Such a contrived, over-the-top story that had potential but focused too much on the romantic storyline instead. People were sacrificed in the midst of war, but I didn’t really care. It was overly dramatic without a sense of narrative purpose. All show but no substance. I felt nothing for the characters and dropped it by episode 2, yet those episodes were enough for me to know that this drama would never live up to expectations. So Ji  Sub and Yoon Kye Sang were absolutely wasted, too.

Smile You: T’was too long. Life is too short. I lost interest early on because I couldn’t stand Lee Min Jung as a spoiled daughter of a ruined chaebol. I know she grew as a character later on in the drama, but I didn’t want to go through all forty-five episodes just to see her maturation. But this one might be one that I’ll pick up again, only for Jung Kyung Ho, who was amazing in Time Between Dog and Wolf.

The Painter of the Wind: Pro: Moon Geun Young and the cinematography. Con: Park Shin Yang and his shrilliness. Dude needs to tone it down in his dramas. ‘Nuff said.

10 thoughts on “Day 16: A Kdrama you started but can’t finish

  1. Hi Dodo! I’ve dropped a ton of dramas too, mostly because I don’t have the time to watch stuff I don’t like..
    To name a few: I dropped Hong Gil Dong, My Princess, Miss Ripley very early on, and Goong and MSOAN after mid-way (I tried picking up MSOAN half a year later, and still couldn’t..)

    I might have to blame dropping Goong on the fact that I love the manhwa though…

    • Hi foraredrose! Thanks for sharing! Oh yeah, MSOAN was super dull until the end, unless you wanted to watch it just to see JGS and MGY’s chemistry with one another. But it wasn’t enough to keep me going. I did finish it thanks to the fast forward button, but only because I forced myself too.

  2. Helloooo. ^^ Kdramas I started but couldn’t finish, hmmm. There aren’t too many on my list since I generally really really DISLIKE not being able to finish a show. I rather fast forward and be done than drop a show halfway. Well, here’s my shortlist:
    Return of Iljimae – Guy with funny walk creeped me out too much to continue. Will revisit though.
    Queen Seon Duk – Hit the wall with one too many political plots.
    I am Legend – Too disappointed to continue.
    Invincible Lee Pyung Kang – Got tired of waiting for the main lead to mature. …Huh, may go back and just fast-forward to the end.

    • I don’t blame you for not finishing RoI because of that annoying guy who walks funny. I almost dropped the drama because of him too. And it really might not work for you, so move on and watch something you like! Life’s too short!

    • That dude totally WAS annoying. He played far too big a role in the drama, in my mind. The way he talked actually bothered me a LOT more than how he walked, though. But that might be less annoying if you don’t know Korean.

  3. Yup, right there with you on Painter. Love love love the visuals, atmosphere, Moon Geun Young, not so much Park Shin Yang.

    Haha, I used to be such a completist, but I’ve gotten grumpier over the years. I dropped a whole ton this year: Lie to Me, Romance Town, Myung Wol the Spy, Me Too Flower, all of them because they really started to suck after the first few episodes. In my earlier days I would’ve slogged through, but hey, life’s too short for bad dramas. 🙂

  4. Sadly, I don’t finish A LOT of kdramas. I’ll be absorbed in one for a couple episodes, stop to do something else, and as soon as you know it, it’s been a month, and it’s been so long that I have no interest in picking the series back up. >_< It really annoys me that I do this, but it always seems to happen. :/

  5. I feel this is among the most important info for me. And i am glad reading your article.
    But wanna observation on some common issues, The site taste is perfect, the articles is in point of fact
    nice : D. Just right task, cheers

Leave a Reply

