The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey releases its first official trailer


YAYAYAYAYAY, the first trailer for the long-awaited movie, The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, is finally out! As a huge Lord of the Rings (LOTR) fan, I can only squeal in delight and start planning a trip to the theaters when the movie premieres at midnight on December 14th of next year. Directed by acclaimed director Peter Jackson, who also directed the LOTR trilogy, The Hobbit is a prequel to Frodo’s journey to Mount Doom. Set back sixty years before LOTR, the movie adaptation follows Bilbo Baggins (Martin Freeman) and his journey of how he attained the Ring.

Back in The Hobbit to play their original characters from LOTR include Andy Serkis as Gollum, Ian McKellen as Gandalf, Cate Blanchett as Galadriel, Hugo Weaving as Elrond, Ian Holm as the older Bilbo Baggins, Orlando Bloom as Legolas, and Elijah Wood as Frodo Baggins.

This trailer doesn’t excite me as say, a Christopher Nolan‘s trailer would, but it certainly did bring on a sense of nostalgia, back to when I first saw LOTR as a young child. Instead of including any epic battle scenes in this trailer, though I’m sure more of that will be seen in succeeding previews, there was an emphasis on introducing the backstory to the audience. The trailer’s also stamped with all the magical directing touches of Peter Jackson, and I admit that I squealed when I saw the breathtaking splendor of the Shire. It’s like LOTR never ended in the first place.

I do want to point out one more thing before I embed the trailer, which is that the dwarves and other characters in this film seem to be cartoonified in a way. Kind of like the characters you’d find in a Pixar movie. Which was weird. Not all of them are, especially not Gandalf, Galadriel, Bilbo, or Elrond. But I almost didn’t recognize Richard Armitage because he looked so different as Thorin Oakenshield, the leader of the Company of Dwarves. Maybe it’s a combination of the make-up and computer retouching, but he definitely didn’t look like the dwarves I was used to seeing in LOTR. Anyway, just a random observation. But enough of that! Here’s the trailer!

 

Who’s excited? I know that after seeing this trailer, I’m once again motivated to marathon all of LOTR again. For the millionth time.

8 thoughts on “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey releases its first official trailer

  1. OMG!!!!!! I got goosebumps. First, I just read the Dec 14th part and was like, oh yea, the movie is out. Then I saw the 2012!!!! *sigh*
    Looks awesome!! Maybe time for me to re-read ‘The Hobbit’.

  2. ~GIANT, MASSIVE SPAZZING~ I’ll be back later to say something more coherent, right now I’m walking out the door to go shopping with my mom.

  3. This is going to be a movie? YES! The Hobbit was my favorite out of the LoTR books, so I’m super psyched!!!! (Although maybe I should re-read the actual trilogy to give it a chance…)

  4. This is so gonna be EPIC! I saw Chris Nolan’s Dark Night Rises trailer too, and it didn’t excite me as much as this one. The moment the dwarves started singing and chanting in hymn, damn, I knew I’d love this film.

    Why oh why is it A YEAR AWAY?!!!!

  5. OH.MY.GOD. Anyways I’ve spazzed enough with people sending me this trailer through many different interfaces. Hahaha. But I’m super excited, of course. Let’s hope Peter Jackson lives up to our expectations after LOTR.

    • Yup. I’m trying to keep my expectations low nonetheless, because much has changed since Jackson first filmed LOTR. I hope fame hasn’t changed his directing or the way he tells a story, ’cause you never know…

Leave a Reply

