Day 30: A Kdrama which made you sad (Final)


Aw, sadly, we’ve reached the end! But the challenge was fun while it lasted, and I’ll definitely remember all the fun conversations I’ve had with many of you throughout this fun series.

I may love my romantic comedies, but I also can’t live without my melodramas. That being said, oftentimes what makes me “sad” isn’t always a death or a tragedy, but the simplest, most ordinary moments in life. Deaths and tragedies often do equate as sadness, though not all of them strike a chord deep within, not all of them touch the realms of my heart. I still consider myself a crybaby, though I think my eyes must have trained itself to shed less tears over the years of much Kdrama-watching. Nowadays, I rarely cry when watching a Korean drama. Only when I experience a gut-wrenching pain do I finally let loose my floodgates.

While there are more than enough dramas that have made me cry, I’m only going to bring up one recent drama, whose story and romance was so genuine that it was difficult to not get emotionally caught up with the whole show.

I find it fitting that I should be ending this challenge with The Princess’s Man, because I never got the chance to finish a review I had started months ago. I love TPM because it’s all about the characters and their interactions with one another. Almost everyone is woven into a complex web of relationships, and the drama focuses much of its 24-episodes run on this dynamic.

There is an epic romantic storyline in this drama, most notably between Se Ryung (Moon Chae Won) and Seung Yoo (Park Shi Hoo), but there’s also another — the one between Princess Kyung Hye and Jung Jong. These two couples have a romance that’s believable, and in my opinion, are the ones to beat in the genre itself.

While I chose this drama in answer to today’s challenge question, I wouldn’t say that it’s just a “sad” drama. I’d be vastly understating the drama’s overall feel if I limited it to that single adjective. No, this drama encompasses everything to create a perfect recipe for a fun ride — it’s romantic, adorable, bittersweet, melodramatic, intriguing, intense, thrilling, and much, much more.

One of the most memorable scenes for me is when Princess Kyung Hye finally calls Jung Jong her husband, and the two share an intimate hug, which is probably equivalent to a kiss back in the Joseon era. That was such a romantic yet bittersweet scene. While a part of me was jumping for joy, another knew that there was upcoming strife ahead. I cried, wishing with all my heart that the two could just run away and forget all their present worries.

Another scene that stood out was also the final cut, with Se Ryung and Seung Yoo horseback riding through the fields. Though Se Ryung is forever cut off from her family (thought to be dead by everyone else) and Seung Yoo is now blind, the couple are still happily in love with one another; they need no one else but each other.

They continue to ride in the sun as their daughter, back in their hut, reads with her nanny, “What exactly is love, I asked the world.” In voiceover, Seung Yoo and Se Ryung then reply in unison, “If without hesitation, we can promise each other to be together until death do us part, it is love.”

And hearing that and seeing the couple so happy, I had cried again. This time, happy, bittersweet tears. Couldn’t help it; I was overcome with emotion. And I was sad that the drama had ended, although I thought it ended almost perfectly.

So yeah, The Princess’s Man. Check it out if you haven’t already. It’s so much more than a “Romeo and Juliet” storyline, so you’ll have to watch it yourself to see why I’m raving about it.

The End.

Photo Source: The Princess’s Man official website on KBS

13 thoughts on “Day 30: A Kdrama which made you sad (Final)

  1. The Princess’ Man was one of the best things about 2011, and that opening theme still makes me nostalgic. Like you, the pair that really made me cry was Kyung Hee and Jung Jong. The scene where she puts on makeup because it’s the last time he’ll see her, as well as the scene where she has the baby alone just made me break down in tears.

    I suppose, though, the one drama that really got me in the gut was Damo. It was just…guh. The passion and tragedy of that drama I still haven’t seen again. It was epic in the best way.

    • Whoops, forgot to add, congratulations on completing the challenge! I admit I’ve been getting spoiled by your frequent posts 🙂

      • If I had the time, my post would’ve been longer and I would’ve included other dramas that made it to my “sad dramas” list. Here’s the actual list (in no particular order): Damo, What Happened in Bali, Glass Slippers, I’m Sorry I Love You, The Princess’s Man, 49 Days, and Conspiracy in the Court.

        I think any scenes featuring Jong and Kyung Hee near the end were pretty sad. What kills me is that we’re barely allowed to see them interact physically with each other, but their love is still so palpable, even without the usual physical contact we’re used to seeing in our modern society.

        Hehe. Thanks for cheering me on, diorama! I feel like I’ve been getting spoiled these days with all the steady comments I’m getting on my posts. They’re like my reward after hours of writing (and procrastination). Not sure if I can keep it up when my winter break is over at the end of this week, but I’ll try to blog as much as possible when I can. After all, I need it to de-stress from life. ^_^

  2. That scene between Jong and Kyung Hae was daebak! I loved it so much I nearly teared up. I even had a post dedicated just to them and the particular scene. So beautiful but yet so sad, knowing the demise which is to come.

    But my saddest would be I’m Sorry I Love You, no contention. I think I used up 2 tissue rolls watching this drama. T___T Damo, TPM and CITC following closely behind.

    • I watched MISA when I was very young, so I don’t think I truly grasped the significance of the drama as a whole. YAY! Glad some of the dramas I listed made your list as well. 😀

  3. Wise words, dear Dodo, TPM is “much more than a ‘Romeo and Juliet’ storyline”. It has the most kick ass princesses of all time and beautiful, beautiful, beautiful, love stories. I still tremble when I listen to this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HhMLihHVVwE

    TPM, Jejoogwon and Giant ripped my heart out.
    OMG, OMG, OMG ;-;
    These made me cry a river and also fullfiled me with a feeling of bliss for having enjoyed such well thought pieces of arts. Dramas like those are what encourages me to never give up kdramaland.
    The next on my list are: CITC, MISA, Queen Insoo, Damo and other classics.

  4. Yeah, that TPM review that never got finished…oops.

    I agree with you, though. I liked TPM’s variety of sadness – I never felt like I was being manipulated to feel sad just for kicks. The sadness grew organically out of the story and was part of the characters’ experiences and growth. I ADORED Jong and Princess Kyung-hee together and [SPOILER!!!!] it killed me when he was executed before he got to meet his son.

    • We can still finish it, y’know. 🙂 Set a deadline?

      Love what you just said about how TPM’s “sadness grew organically out of the story and was part of the characters’ experiences and growth.” I totally agree! And yes, that part killed me too.

  5. Mindless happy fluff = me. Having said that, the saddest ones I’d ever watched…eons ago… were I’m Sorry I Love You and Damo. I cried buckets over those two, and it took me a looooong time to snap out of it.

      • Hahaha. ^^ Partly yes. While I loved both dramas, I also disliked the hold it had over me. I moped around the house for days on end railing against the unfairness of it all, esp MiSa. That one hit me the hardest cos… I was SO sure he lived. And when she went to Australia and re-visited all the places where she had been with him, my heart broke.

        It was so silly to be depressed over fiction. Lol.

        The main reason I prefer mindless fluff is there are too many sad things in real life. I don’t need to go looking for it on TV. My mom passed away from leukemia in 2009. For now and maybe the next few years, I don’t want to purposely make myself sad. I am not right now, but I don’t want to go there.

        😉 Don’t feel bad for me. You didn’t bring up a sad memory. We made sure we had plenty of smiles and happy memories with my mom and were grateful for the times we had.

        • Aww thanks for sharing, lilone! Definitely live life to the fullest every single day, yeah? We need to treasure life, and not take it for granted. That’s something I’m still learning.

Leave a Reply

