Thoughts on the movie You’re My Pet


I came into You’re My Pet with very low expectations because let’s be honest here, Korean romantic-comedies tend to be quite predictable and oftentimes fluffy. Usually the scenario follows something like this: Hero and heroine meet. They fall in love within an hour or two, hijinks ensue. Fate keeps them apart for a few minutes. They get back together and live happily ever after. The end.

While this certainly didn’t top my list of all-time favorite Korean rom-com movies, nor would I be inclined to recommend it to a friend, it delivered where I expected it to deliver — I was entertained for an hour and fifty minutes. You’re My Pet even managed to make me smile (gasp!) and chuckle to myself twice (omgnowayrealllys?) But where it ultimately failed was setting up a relationship that was believable and genuine, and that’s where the drama lost points from me.

I’m assuming that a lot of people will watch this because they either like Jang Geun Seok or Kim Ha Neul (or both), or they’re interested to see the Korean adaptation of the Japanese manga, Kimi wa Pet. I don’t know anything about the manga or the Japanese movie adaptation, so I can’t vouch for it. However, after watching the Korean adaptation, I’d like to read the original manga or watch the Japanese version now to see how they portrayed the story. Because they probably did better.

In all honesty, You’re My Pet should receive a poor rating, especially because the editing was choppy and the transitions a little rough. The story failed to flow smoothly, and I felt absolutely no romantic onscreen chemistry between the two leads. (It was even worse than Han Ye Seul and Song Joong Ki’s romance in Penny-Pinchers.) In short, it didn’t feel like a romance, but two people getting together just because Show wanted them to pair up in the end. Yes, t’was a travesty. There weren’t that many moments in the movie where I saw Momo (Jang Geun Seok) and Eun Yi (Kim Ha Neul) fall in love with each other. Sure, they fought and laughed in a few scenes and went on a date or two, but if you asked me why they should be voted as the movie’s one true pairing (OTP), I wouldn’t be able to tell you why. Because a woman who falls in love with a man, originally thinking that the man reminded her of her old pet dog isn’t very romantic at all.

It’s actually hilarious in a bad way, if you think about it. No man really would want to be compared to a dog, no matter how cute the dog is. Plus, we never really saw the pivotal moment where Eun Yi begins to see Momo as a man, and not as the human incarnation of her doggy; there’s no momentous change in how she regards Momo as far as I know. When she worries about Momo, I can’t figure out if it’s because she’s reminded of her old pet, or because she truly cares about her housemate We see glimpses of deepening attachment on Momo’s part, but Eun Yi’s attachment remains an ambiguous question.

As for Jang Geun Seok, he was, for the most part, adorable as the sometimes cheeky Momo. While he got his part down pat, I couldn’t really love his character, which I thought didn’t have enough depth. The same could be said of Eun Yi, who I also thought was a caricature. They weren’t characters I truly cared about, but only two people on the screen in front of me. And for that, You’re My Pet is ultimately is a miss, though it was a pretty good mind-numbing entertainment.

Just for kicks, here are a few screenshots from scenes I enjoyed.

Payce Out, he’s saying. Just kidding, Momo’s doing a random dance for everyone.

9 thoughts on “Thoughts on the movie You’re My Pet

  1. I can absolutly agree with you. the whole hype about this movie and promotion really picks my interest but it was a waste of time watching it.

  2. Mmm, I dropped the Japanese drama version after 1 episode because the whole “treat the boy as a pet” thing got really literal and way too weird for me. I’ve heard though that it was good at setting up the relationship – maybe you need more than two hours for that?

    • They took it sort of literally in the Korean movie as well, which is what turned me off from the romantic story line. Regardless of the relationship setup in You’re My Pet, the two leads just didn’t explode with chemistry with one another, and were rather awkward with each other.

  3. !!!!

    1) Where did you see this movie?
    2) Why did you watch without meeee?!
    3) Was it really more disappointing than Penny Pinching Romance?
    4) I’m so sad it wasn’t as good as it was hyped up to be. 😦

    • 1. I downloaded the torrent for it and got soft subs. Didn’t wait for the theaters.
      2. Sorries, I decided to watch it on a whim to de-stress!
      3. Yeah, I thought so. The acting wasn’t that great and there really weren’t that many cute moments, compared to PPR.
      4. 😦 Me too. But oh wells, you’re bound to have many misses with Korean rom-coms anyway.

  4. I watched this over break! The plot was definitely ridiculous… but I guess the movie can be kinda metaphorical in sense that we all want a bf who is devoted to us like a cute little puppy 🙂 I am jealous that Jang Geun Suk has better skin and better hair than me. he is probably skinnier too haha.

  5. I loved the drama a lot but after seeing one too many reviews like this of the K movie version, I have lost all hope for this being any good…I think you’ll probably understand the appeal of this setup better if you watched the Jdorama version ….I love both the leads here, but I have a feeling they may not have been right for these roles…JGS seems like an OK pick…but as much as I love Kim Ha Neul she seems a bit too cheerful for Sumire chan…it’s certainly crazy that anyone would want to make a grown up guy a pet…except someone as crazy and closed up as Sumire….and Koyuki did a fab job playing her too…I think I should give up on Kdrama remakes of JDrama/Mangas altogether from now on

Leave a Reply

